ForumRelationships and Stuff ► Relationship Advice?
Alright guys, I'm in high school and I was just wondering, how do you get to meet women, and then precedingly date women? It seems like all of the school is still kind of separate, boys hang out with boys, and girls hang out with girls. So what do I do if I want a girlfriend? I don't know anyone yet, but I would like to meet new people and just try to date, since I've never done it before.

it's ok

Go talk to people of different genders than yours. Be their friends. They're normal human beings just like you are. If you sit near them in class, maybe strike up conversation before the teacher gets going. Join clubs and whatnot.

Please don't initially do this with the sole intent of dating, though. First and foremost just be their friends and see if you even like each other that way - and don't "girlfriend zone" them and stop talking to them if it turns out you're not interested romantically. It's shitty to lead someone on into thinking you want to be friends and then ditching them cos they don't like you romantically.

Find an activity that isn't split up by gender. You'll meet friends with a common interest and that's a good place to start.

go get 'em, tiger.

The most common advice you will get about dating is "just be yourself" and I need to warn you right away that is terrible advice for a heterosexual man. It will work if you're on the spectrum, but if you are cisgendered and hetero then that is some of the worst possible advice anyone could give you.

What works for other people in dating wont work for you. Women are used to being approached and getting lots of free attention from guys, unless you are one of the hunky babes at your school, women aren't going to approach you romantically the way guys approach them.