ForumRelationships and Stuff ► How to be Nice?
I'm not good at talking to people, and being a shut in because of the pandemic for a year hasn't helped. I really want to be nice to people whenever possible but I really struggle with finding the words to. I always seem to come off as arrogant or patronizing. This is just asking for help on how to go about expressing sympathy or complimenting someone. I want to be nice. I am unfortunately unable to. I just wanted to ask for help on doing so.

You need to add in fluff, intentions of kindness. Also ownership of your statement. I prefer direct people but most don't.

Example
You're never going to have meaningful friendships if you act like a jerk.

Fluff
I want you to be happy and build meaningful relationships with other people. So i think your best chance at that is working to emphasize kindness and empathy for others when you talk to them.

thank you.

Hey man. No problem. Being heard is important and I see you.
As for compliments. Pick a thing you like and say you like it.
Or
If you can see that someone put effort into something compliment that

You can practice on the elderly. I know that sounds weird but, have you ever noticed the work those ladies put into their appearance? They usually have their hair curled, a touch of make up and an outfit that is color coordinated. Just say " You look lovely today." And go on about your business. Its makes them feel really good because they are people and they are looked over because they don't meet some arbitrary rules society says you have to meet to be noticed and you get practice

Re compliments on appearance - if you're complimenting people on their physical appearance and are concerned about being creepy (you didn't mention this, but I thought I'd mention it just in case), compliment people on things that are choices they made, rather than attributes of theirs. For example, "your hair looks great" or "I love your shoes" vs "you are gorgeous" or "you have a nice body".