ForumTechnical Corner ► Programming Problems Revival
Hello all,
I had a question about a programming problem and noticed that the old thread was totally dead, so I'm posting it here. I'm pretty new to programming in general so please go easy on me.
The problem in question is CSES' Factory Machines.
The solution I came up with was to use binary search to cut down the maximum possible searches to under 1 second, but I'm still having issues exceeding the time limit.
def main():
    n, t = map(int, input().split())
    arr = list(map(int, input().strip().split()))

low = 0
    hi = 1e18

while low <= hi:
        mid = (low + hi) // 2
        sum = 0

for i in range(n):
            sum += mid // arr[i]

if sum > t:
            hi = mid
        elif sum < t:
            low = mid
        else:
            return int(mid)

print(main())

Any recommendations at all would be very much appreciated.

Your code there runs plenty fast on my machine, less than 50 milliseconds on the example they give. I struggle to see it running more than 20x slower on their end, maybe I'm missing something.

That's what I was thinking, in the example they give the input is very small but my code should have O(log n) of running time, unless I'm doing something wrong.

Track what's going on with the value in `sum`; you're adjusting it based on values from the input when you use `arr` (what's given on the second line?) and if those aren't as expected then you could be setting the bounds wrong, which would invalidate the usual runtime analysis of a binary search.

Edit:
I read the problem and I don't think you need to search the machine-speeds list since each of them contributes to the outcome; you're going to have to do something with each element.