ForumTechnical Corner ► Chrome Incognito "Popup" Window. How to?
I'm trying to figure out how to create a bookmark that, when clicked, will open an Incognito window. But the thing is, I want it to open the window in the "popup" style. As in, without the tab bar, without the Omnibar, and without the bookmarks bar.

I'm not a developer of any sort, I just did some research and this is what I was able to find so far:
javascript:window.open("http://www.google.com", "detab", "toolbar=0"); window.close()
Inserted that little tidbit into the URL for a new "bookmark". When I click it, it opens Google in an almost-what-I-want window. But it's not incognito.

Ideally, I want it to not have the URL bar and be incognito.
Help?

If you right click a bookmark, there's the option to open in an incognito window. Does that work with the javascript thing?

I never checked that. But I just did, and that option is grayed out.
Even if it did work, I'd still like it to be a single-click thing, if possible.

Wait, for some reason it isn't grayed out anymore. So that's always an option, if I can't figure out how to add it to the bookmarklet itself.

Do you want it to load any page in particular? A blank page with no navigation bar seems pretty useless.

Edit: Well, I made a simple extension that does basically what you said. I don't know how to make it a bookmarklet instead of a button though. Let me know if you want the default page changed.

Double Edit: The source, if you're interested, looks like this:

manifest.json:
{
  "name": "Incognito Popup Button",
  "description": "Creates an incognito popup with the omnibox hidden.",
  "version": "1.0",
  "background": {
    "persistent": false,
    "scripts": ["background.js"]
  },
  "browser_action": {
    "default_title": "New Incognito Popup",
    "default_icon": "icon.png"
  },
  "manifest_version": 2
}

background.js:
chrome.browserAction.onClicked.addListener(function(tab) {