ForumTouchy Subjects ► ‘New’ sexualities and identities.
Y’all know what this is.

As someone who is a member of what was recently considered (and to be honest, is still considered to many people) a frivolous/made up/snowflake-y/etc. sexuality, I have feelings about this topic.
I spent years feeling really, really shitty about myself because I had been told, repeatedly, that I was faking it, doing it for attention, that I was sour grapes, etc. It sucks to think that you might have things figured out, only to be met with immediate hostility and vitriol. All those feelings of relief and euphoria at finally having some sort of explanation and some group where you might actually fit, just outright crushed the moment you open up about it.
So naturally I'm not a big proponent of dismissing the 'new' sexualities and identities off the bat. People are complicated and have complicated feelings, and anything that they can do to make some sense of them, I'm all behind.